National Public Health Reference Laboratory

The National Public Health Reference Laboratory is mandated to oversee the public health laboratory services throughout the country. It has the following departments; Microbiology, Biochemistry, Parasitology, HIV, TB and Nutrition. The main functions include: supporting national surveys, conducting disease surveillance, conducting quality assurance, offering confirmatory testing for sub national laboratories including private, providing training to laboratory personnel and conducting outbreak investigations in collaboration with the Epidemiology Unit.